Testimonials

Here at OLSS, we have helped thousands of people just like you overcome their pain and suffering. Our doctors are some of the best in the nation, and we pride ourselves on providing the highest quality care and most professional manner. Just read what some of our clients have said about us.

Kimberly Minguez | January 4th, 2017

I just want to take a moment and thank everyone for their great customer service, especially when it came to making a patient feel welcome and less nervous in regards to their pending surgery. Everyone was very pleasant. The surgery center was the first-of-its-kind for me and I have been in many. I wasn’t looked at just another procedure on the list. Your staff made me feel at ease before and after each of my procedures. I had six of them since June of 2016 and they knew me by my first name which made it more personable and very warming. All of your staff were amazing and as I come to the end of my journey with you, I have to say I would recommend your surgery center to everyone (which I already did).  Even though I have about 2 percent of pain at all times, the lidocaine helps 99 percent of the time. But this is much better than 100 percent pain I was in when this journey started for me. Now I am able to get comfortable most of the time to sleep. Yay! I never thought it would be any better. So yes, there is some pain but you guys got me to where I am able to manage it on a daily basis.

Thank you so much for giving me my life back to the best of your ability. As I said before, the pain is nowhere what is was and for that, I am very grateful.


R.G. | December 16th, 2015

R.G.Hi! If you’re reading this then you are probably where I have been for years in excruciating pain and looking for that elusive answer to make it all go away. First I have no affiliation to Dr. Katzmans office and not receiving anything in return for this review. I typically do not do reviews for products or services but when asked if I could share my experience I almost felt obligated to help people like me. I am 44 years old and have been dealing with neck pain for over 10 years with no relief. As most of you, I have been to multiple doctors, different medicines, chiro treatment and the repeated answer to fuse all disc as we cannot do anything else or just deal with it on meds. I knew one thing a 3 level fusion was not the way I wanted to go so I waited and waited for something new. Finally earlier this year I couldn’t take it anymore so I searched for disc replacements and all about the doctors who performed it.

Like I said I typically don’t do reviews so this may be long winded but I am going to write this as if I was a reader and what would I have liked to have known before moving forward. So after finding Dr. s office in a news article and he had an office down the road from me, I did some more direct research on that office and felt comfortable to contact them.

I contacted the Dr’s office to see what the next step was and I will warn you this seems to go a little unorthodox to my history scheduling appointments but please continue to the end for the full experience. They didn’t ask me for an appointment, they first wanted to get my MRI’s before anything. I said ok I have recent ones and I will drop them off (no appointment, no money spent). They said someone would contact me after the MRI review and let me know if I was a candidate for ADR. I’m thinking that’s cool they want to review before me spending money or wasting anyone’s time in appointments. So I receive a call and said I was a candidate and that now one of the staff doctors would call and explain everything I need to know and answer any questions. I got on a call with one of the Dr’s around 8:30pm and he went over everything including the diagnosis, artificial discs, the procedure, FDA disc approvals, insurance etc.. We talked for almost 1 ½ hours and exhausted all questions or concerns, pro and cons, basically everything we could think of. He sent emails with pictures and articles during the call that helped explain and visualize stuff. He was extremely nice, helpful and made me feel real comfortable about everything related to the procedure but didn’t push anything! He said think everything over, call or email with any more questions and just let us know which direction you want to go. After that I spoke with one of the medical staff about insurance and what was covered and what could be done. Based on insurance it was decided to do one artificial disc C4-5 and 1 hybrid fusion C5-6. For those wondering about the hybrid fusion, look it up it’s not a typical fusion, it has no screws or plates and I thought it would be fine at the 5-6 level for me; its similar in design to an artificial disc. I went ahead and scheduled surgery for about 1 ½ months later. A few weeks later I got some cold feet thinking I still haven’t seen a doctor or visited an office and this is a major surgery. So I contacted the office and they with no hesitation said we can make an appointment to meet Dr. Katzman and go over everything, it was all my choice. I elected to speak with the prior doctor I spoke with on the phone just to refresh everything before I made that visit. I spoke with him and again I felt at ease and decided not to go in for an appointment. I figured meeting the doctor wouldn’t give me anymore information then I already had and didn’t see the point but the option was there. With years of doctors and medical visit relating to this and my long conversations with the doctor I didn’t feel another appointment was necessary. I’ll get to the surgery next but I had to throw that in this review as it seemed an unusual process but I actually felt more comfortable with them and about the surgery then previous 10 years of doctor’s visits that come into am exam room, talk down to you and leave in 3 minutes and collect a copay for nothing while telling you to deal with it or do what they want you to do.

Now the day of surgery I was scheduled for 8:30AM and was there at 7AM for paperwork, vitals etc.. Nurses there were great and really make you the center of attention and feel comfortable. I finally meet the doctor and again he talked to me about what was happening, questions or concerns, really anything on my mind. It would take about 1 hour each disc and with recovery I should be released by 12-1pm same day. I was out by 12:30 and sleeping at home by 1:00.. After I woke about 2 hours later I felt great! No pain, wide awake and energetic. My throat was sore to swallow like a typical sore throat but from the tube I assume but none the less I still had a nice steak dinner with ease. I rested a bit and probably shouldn’t write this but we took a slow walk and by the end of it we walked about 2 miles but did it because I still felt great. No pain, little stiffness but moved cautiously not to bother anything. The first night sleeping is rough laying down that you almost have to sit up to avoid the pain of holding up your head and that continues for the week. Find a recliner chair as lying flat is really not an option. Ok so here’s the best part, definitely sore for the first week but NO pain of any kind even close to from prior surgery and continued to improve with every day. Four weeks in and still slightly sore as expected and pain level from 1-10 at a 1 or 2 but more discomfort stiffness pain rather than nerve pain. Skipping ahead to 2 months and still feeling great. Prior surgery pain still has not returned and feeling normal with still some stiffness and slight ache lower part of neck probably because not doing anything yet. While I am writing this it is now my 3 month anniversary and I feel like the surgery was the best thing I did. I still do have that slight ache maybe 10 percent of the time with some morning stiffness a bit but I have started exercising lightly 1-2 times a week, not pushing just stretching and using body weight cautiously. Really since week 2 I have had no limitation with turning my head from side to side but only a slight loss looking straight up, that could be stiffness, lack of flexibility or its permanent but in any case it’s completely acceptable to me as there’s no pain.

So overall I have to say I am so glad I did the surgery! In just 3 months it has changed my life quality better than the past 10 years. I am really a completely different person, No pain, I’m happy and people around me even notice this. The Center for Artificial Disc Replacement [family of services through Orthopedic and Laser Spine Surgery] with its staff and doctors was in no doubt the best choice I could have made. If you took the time to read this I hope it helps you pursue looking into this, everyone’s body is different but now you know results like this is possible. Like I said earlier in the review the process to get to the surgery was different then I was use to with standard doctor offices but different is sometime better and this absolutely was the best experience! From educating me to billing to surgery to just treating me like a human to help and not a paycheck, I’m glad I found them to help me!

Thanks to all the staff at the Center for Artificial Disc Replacement for everything! You will never really know how much of my life you gave me back!

Special thanks to Lisa and Dr. Woods for all the extra time they spent on me!

Thank you,
RG –Palm Beach, FL


Victoria Mackin | October 4th, 2016

VictoriaHard to believe it has been two years since my life-changing neck surgery at OLSS. I took a leap of faith and made the trip from Kentucky to Florida to undergo a state-of-the-art procedure with Dr. Oppenheimer. I can’t thank all of the physicians, nurses, and staff who worked with me enough. I feel fabulous, after living in pain for seven years!

Check out her review on Facebook.


D.B. | July 28, 2014

D. BoeshI want to thank Dr. Scott Katzman and Orthopedic Laser and Spine Surgery for the excellent care I received. For nine months I suffered with tear-inducing pain in my neck with pain and tingling that radiated down my left arm. I tried different therapies including chiropractic care, massage, pain meds, heat, ice, spine stretching devices, etc…. to no avail. It was not only affecting my daily work but my quality of life and I knew it was time to consider surgery.

I consulted with multiple orthopedic and neurosurgeons, including two from the Research Triangle in North Carolina who recommended spinal fusion on one level. It wasn’t until I did my research that I heard of disc replacement surgery. Dr. Scott Katzman rose to the top of every search so I make the call to OLSS. He read my MRI immediately and confirmed that I actually had TWO herniated discs. He was the only surgeon who recommended a disc replacement and a fusion at the second level.

In February 2014, I made the trip to Florida and didn’t look back. Dr. Katzman put me at ease and explained the procedure in terms I could understand. After the surgery, my pain relief was immediate and marked a turning point for me. I am five months out and still pain free! My only regret is that I didn’t call OLSS sooner. My sincerest thanks to Dr. Scott Katzman and Orthopedic and Laser Spine Surgery.

D.B.
From Louisiana


N. Ackerman | June 26, 2014

Testimonials N. AckermanAfter two years of waiting for my neck issues to improve, I realized they were not going to. Botox injections weren’t going to straighten out my neck. Unless I made a decision to do something about them, my life would never be the same. My instincts were telling me that time was of the essence.

From the first day I began to communicate with Dr. Wood of your organization, I felt there was an understanding of what I was going through and there was a sincere effort made to answer all of our questions via email, phone calls, or literature. My husband and I did a lot of research and we felt that your organization had quite a bit of experience with cervical spine issues and it was reflected in your professionalism, efficiency, and sincerity.

We appreciate Dr. Jason Jewell’s checking in and making sure things were moving along before surgery and after. Truly, a person with many talents. We were able to work with him on insurance matters, payments, and the itinerary. It was not an easy decision to fly to Florida for my surgery while our home was in Montana. It was the right thing to do. We regret that we didn’t have a chance to meet Dr. Jewell.

During the day of surgery, 6/16/2014, I met quite a few people. A little bit of anxiety kicked in with a tear or two. Everyone, from the gentleman that prepped me for surgery, the Neurophysiologist, the Radiological Tech, the Anesthesiologist, the surgeon Assistant, and Jeffrey Oppenheimer the surgeon introduced themselves and helped me feel at ease. I asked Dr. Oppenheimer “Why did this happen to my neck?”. I loved his response which was “I’m not a Why man. I’m a Fix-it man.” That was all I needed to hear.

My post-op appointment was with Dr. Monica McPhail-Pruitt on 6/18/2014. Again, everybody was pleasant and answered my questions.

Here it is a week and half after surgery. I’m babying the body. Neck swelling gone down substantially. No fever. Eating and drinking etc. Just taking pain medication and anti-inflammatory. Have some soreness behind the shoulders. I can sleep on any side and turn without discomfort … WOW! Feeling stronger every day.

I just wanted to say … THANK YOU … for the professional and warm treatment I received on surgery day.

“You will be reminded of what you do today tomorrow.”

Mrs. N. Ackerman
Montana


William Orechia | April 14, 2014

Testimonials William OrechiaI just want anybody who will listen to me to know if you need spine surgery the only place to go is Orthopedic and Laser Spine Surgery LLC.

I spent the last 37 years of my life enduring some level of lower back pain. Some days I literally had to lay on the floor to get any relief from the pain. I used chiropractors, massage therapists, and physical therapy yet the pain persisted at some level. Any relief attained might last for a couple of months or just days depending on my activity level. I’m an avid golfer and as the years passed it because increasingly difficult to play through the pain.

On February 27, 2014 my life changed for the better. I had surgery at your Altamonte Spring Surgical Center. All of the staff was courteous and professional. My surgery took place at 5:30pm. The last tiny bit of pain I had was the insertion of the IV line into my hand. From that point on NO MORE PAIN. I was released the same day. Two days later I walked my regular two miles. Two weeks later I was putting and chipping. I played in my first round of golf on April 7th. Regretfully I still shoot in the mid 80’s but I’m pain free doing it.

I can’t thank Dr. Oppenheimer and his support staff enough for the quality of care they provided. There is only one word to describe my experience with Orthopedic and Laser Surgery: WOW!!

Respectfully,
William Orechia
Fleming Island, Florida


Lisa Henriques | March 16, 2014

Testimonials Lisa HenriquesDr. Oppenheimer,

It’s been some time since I had my cervical disc replacement surgery on 10/25/13. I wanted to let you know that I’m doing well and have realized a significant amount of improvement as a result.

Thank you once again for your expertise. You are an amazing surgeon!

Sincerely,
Lisa
Rhode Island


Jerry W | March 2014

Testimonials Jerry WIt’s now one month after my spine surgery was performed (2/17/14) by Dr Scott Katzman at Orthopedic & Laser Spine Surgery using minimal invasive surgery (MIS) techniques and I am experiencing NO right leg (sciatica pain). Considering I have been experiencing pain over a span of 1 ½ years encompassing 2 failed spine operations, performed by 2 separate surgeons that did not relieve the pain. At age 81, it was an absolutely great feeling to begin to believe that I was not going to have live with the pain!

The MIS surgery involved performing corrective procedures on my lumbar spine, L1 to L5, and took about 4 hours through an incision one inch long. The only pain I have experienced following the operation has been local to the incision area. The day after my surgery I was able to get out of bed and walk around the room. From my perspective, the major attributes of the MIS procedure performed by Dr. Katzman are:

 

  • Surgery was successful.
  • There has been minimal pain.
  • Thus far, recovery has been uneventful and very favorable.

 

My thanks and & gratitude go out to Dr. Katzman & his team for their successful MIS surgery procedure that resulted in eliminating the pain emanating down my right leg.

At this point I would like to also note that Dr. Jason Jewell, Senior Patient Advocate played a major role by helping me thru my decision process and I thank him for his patience in answering my multitude of questions.

The entire experience with Orthopedic Laser Spine Surgery staff was excellent, they knew what was wanted/needed, always returned my calls, provided accurate information, no lost information therefore no redo’s.

The selection of a doctor to perform the surgery on my spine involved review of my MRIs with 5 surgeons. The selection of Dr. Katzman centered on his discussion of my entire lumbar spine L1 to L5 not just the L5/S1 area which indicated to me that he had performed a more thorough review of my case than the other surgeons. Before I contacted Dr. Katzman I was faced with fusion of L5/S1 using the open surgical approach with all its pain & recovery issues. The procedures that Dr. Katzman performed avoided the fusion and the related issues. He also indicated that he had performed the (MIS) procedures many times to repair very similar spine conditions.

It appears the result Dr. Katzman indicated could be expected was “on the money”. The decision to go with the procedure suggested by Dr. Katzman was a good one. Every once in a while I make one, a good decision that is.

Thank you so much, I feel that I can return to my normal activities again without pain.

Sincerely,
Jerry W.
Houston, TX


Tammy McCord | February 5, 2014

My name is Tammy and I’m so overjoyed to write this testimony about Doctor Katzman and his staff at 652 Palm Springs Drive, Altamonte Springs, FL 32701 who performed my Coccygectomy on January 6, 2014; after years of pain.

It all started 20 years ago when I was diagnosed with a stress fracture on my tailbone while I was 7 months pregnant. Since then, I’ve broken my coccyx roller-skating, falling down a flight of stairs, and flipping a four-wheeler. In August 2011, I fell once again and broke my coccyx and sacrum. I was on my stomach for 6 weeks. Over the last 2 ½ years, I have not been able to sit down, very much. I’ve seen multiple doctors who had me get x-rays, MRI’s, shots, and epidurals; which only gave me temporary relief. The real kicker is, my orthopedic doctor, whom I trusted most, suggested I see a therapist because he could not find any reason for the pain. I even started to think it was all in my head. I know my body though and I knew this pain I felt was not in my head. So I took to the internet to see if others had experience the same issue. After days of research and testimony reading, I was lead to the Orthopedic and Laser Spine Surgery Center in FL. All I had to do was talk to the doctor on the phone and they did the rest. They obtained, with my consent, my records from all of the doctors I had seen previously. They set it all up so I did not have to worry on top of all my pain. When I arrived, they walked me through every step and gave me time to ask all the questions I needed. They made sure I was as comfortable as I could be. Dr. Katzman himself took time to meet with me to give me a hug for comfort and support. He’s a super guy and doctor. Now, just 3 weeks after the procedure, I’m pain free.

From start to finish, Doctor Katzman and his team have been top notch professionals! I’m blessed to have found them, now I can finally rock my first grandson, who is six months old, without any pain. Thanks!

-Tammy McCord


Paul Poe | February 3, 2014

Testimonials Paul PoeMy name is Paul and what I’m about to tell you could change your life, like it has mine.

Imagine bending over to pick up a coin, look under a shelf, take out the trash, walk your dog, or just going to Wal-Mart for milk and bread, things people do every day with no problem. Right?

Now imagine waking up every day in so much pain that you struggle to get up and out of bed. It’s hard to get dressed. You walk and every step you take feels like a knife stabbing you in the back. When driving you feel every bump in the road. You can’t bend, push, pull or lift anything and forget going to Wal-Mart because you just can’t do it without excruciating pain. Countless doctor visits, literally hundreds and hundreds of pain pills, muscle relaxing and anti-inflammatory drugs and then surgery and I was still in pain. I thought I was going to be crippled for life. That’s where I was and let me emphasize WAS.

I saw a commercial on T.V. about laser spine surgery, so I Googled it on my computer and clicked on the Laser Spine Surgery of Altamonte Spring FL, filled out a short form, and they called me that day. We set up a surgery date and I prayed to God they could help me and He heard my prayers.

After the surgery I was a bit sore at the incision site, about 1 inch long, but the next day I drove all the way home to Pensacola, about 7 hours, with very little pain.

After about a week going to Wal-Mart was no problem. My wife has worked at Wal-Mart 14 years so everybody knows me there. Several of my wife’s coworkers have asked her, “What’s up with Paul, he’s walking with a lot of pep in his step, what did he do?” She tells them about my surgery.

It’s almost a miracle. I have my life back. I’m doing so many things I wasn’t able to do before the surgery. My wife laughs at me when I do my “funky dance” that she hasn’t seen me do in many years.

I’m a new person. I have my life back thank to the surgeons, nurses and the staff at Orthopedic Laser Spine Surgery. They were all very nice, very supportive and seemed like they really cared about what you were going through.

Thank you, all of you at the Altamonte Springs laser spine surgery location.

Sincerely,
-Paul, Pensacola


E.K. | January 24, 2014

Testimonials E.K.Dear Doctors Katzman and Oppenheimer,

I would like to thank you for the caring, quality treatment afforded me by you and your staff, before, during, and after my lumbar surgery to treat my right leg sciatica problem. The surgery is amazing, requiring no hospital stay and leaving almost no scar! I am extremely happy to have relief from my pain.

All of your staff that I dealt with at the Orlando and Fort Pierce offices were caring, professional, and extremely competent. I would also like to particularly thank Lisa and Tracy, who guided me throughout the process of dealing with Insurance Coverage and Scheduling.

Again, thank you; and I highly recommend OLSS to anyone with an orthopedic spine or neck problem.

Sincerely,
-E.K., Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Ron and Yo | December 12, 2013

Testimonials Ron and YoDear “Cowboy” Katzman,

Sorry that is has taken so long for us to contact you to thank you for how much you helped us in correcting Ron’s back problem.

Over the past five years there have been several physicians… some good, some bad, and a very special few, extraordinary. Many answer the calling and go on to be excellent but only that special few are extraordinary. YOU are among the extraordinary!

Extraordinary is the only word I can think of to describe you and our experiences with you from the very first phone call. Your talent both in the operating room and out is a beacon of help for the future of all your patients.

Thank you for spending time with us and making us feel comfortable but more important you made us feel at ease with what you were going to do.

After the surgery, again, you met with us putting us at ease and letting us know how everything went. There is no way and no words to properly thank you for all that you have done.

Even weeks after the surgery you still answered your phone even while you were on vacation and again when I was involved in a traffic accident (I was stopped at a traffic light and was hit from behind). Even the Doctor in the ER said that we should be very thankful that we had found a special person like you. Before the accident I had been out of pain for approximately five days and had not had to take pain pills. However since the accident the pain has returned to my back and although the CT scan did not show anything out of place my pain has returned.

As a small token of our appreciation and in accord with your reputation as a “Cowboy” we are sending you this gift as all cowboys should have one!

May God always bless you.
Thank you,
-Ron and Yo
Marietta, GA


Jeff Ansley | September 27, 2013

Dear Dr. Katzman,

I am pleased and honored to report to you that I am 100% pain free. The artificial disc replacement laser surgery that you performed on Friday, September 5, 2013 was a lifesaver. I was able to return to work on Monday, September 9, 2013 with no restrictions whatsoever.

I feel so fortunate that I found your practice and that you performed my surgery. The local physicians gave me very little hope with the prognosis after the traditional fusion surgery that would have limited my neck and back movements. Also, the long healing process from the fusion surgery would have put me out of business. I am happy to tell you that I am back to jumping on and off of equipment, climbing the large cranes at the port authority, and lifting heavy objects again. The weakness in my arm is gone and I am gaining the muscle back very quickly My wife and I want you know that you have the best team of associates we have ever met. The first phone call she made to your practice was to Chris Grieneisen, your patient advocate. He was so nice and very helpful getting the process started. Dr. Steven Karm, your Senior Patient Advocate, finished the process by explaining everything; making sure we understood the procedure and being very patient. We have never dealt with so many nice people over the phone. The day of surgery we met the rest of your great staff and associates. Everyone was so friendly and happy. We were very surprised how happy of all of them seemed and how excited they were for me. Then meeting you it became very clear. You have an excitement and love of what you do that is really hard to describe. Let me just say that you put us at ease with the confidence that you showed and the love of being able to perform this surgery.

I have been recommending your surgery to so many people I hope that you will be able to help some of them as much as you helped me.

Sincerely,
-Jeff Ansley


Shawn Wood | May 29, 2013

Testimonials Shawn WoodDr. Katzman & Staff at Orthopedic & Laser Spine Surgery,

Dr. Katzman performed a cervical fusion and artificial disc replacement in April, 2013 as I had been searching for relief from pain in my neck, headaches and numbness in my fingers. I had a previous fusion in 2008 and 2 different levels at a hospital in North Carolina but I had symptoms start showing after 3 ½ years and after seeking relief with every doctor wanting to manage my pain for 1 ½ years, I wanted a solution not medicine the rest of my life so my wife found Dr. Katzman on the web. We both weren’t sure at first but after sending MRI’s and working with the staff we felt more confident. When we arrived the day of my surgery we spent some time with Dr. Katzman who explained the procedure and his assistant Dr. Lewjack who spent some time talking with us as well so I felt very confident in the outcome. They surgery went very well and Dr. Katzman came out and spent a lot of time explaining all that he did during my surgery to my wife and daughter. Well after 6 weeks since surgery, my recovery has been fantastic compared to the previous fusion in 2008. Tracy & the staff have called me and continually followed up to see how I’m feeling which has been comforting. When I have questions Dr. Katzman has calls me and answers any concerns I have and just want to say it has been a good experience for me. I have lower back disc problems as well and will return to seek treatment from Dr. Katzman for any future treatment or surgery.

Thank you,

Shawn, Raleigh, NC


Barry Rosenblum | April 19, 2013

To interested potential patients of Doctor Katzman,

For the past four years I have suffered with severe pain in my right knee. My knee was in perfect condition. The diagnosis from many doctors was the pain that was coming from L4. I flew to New York to the Hospital for Special Surgery, supposedly the best facility in the country. They verified the problem and recommended a fusion. I was familiar with the long painful recovery period and rejected the surgery. I then went to the University of Miami and they made the same recommendation. I was in desperate need of help. I had two previous minimally invasive surgeries from local surgeons with stellar reputations and they did not help me. After their surgery they sent me to sports medicine doctors who uselessly injected my knee.

I could no longer walk more than 100 feet without excruciating pain in my knee, never my back. Playing golf was a painful experience, particularly walking to the greens.

Dr. Katzman was recommended to me from a friend. He immediately told me the problem and why the previous surgeries did not work; bone was still touching the nerve. He told me that his surgery would take care of it and I would need a fusion because removing that much bone would destabilize the back. However, the fusion would be minimally invasive and in 10 weeks I could start playing golf. To me it sounded too good to be true.

The bottom line is “I feel soooooooo great: I am pain free for the first time in over four years and more importantly I’m out playing golf and can take a full golf swing.

Whatever Dr. Katzman tells you to do you can accept as gospel. Just do it and stop shopping.

If you want to call me to discuss the surgery you are more than welcome. (Phone is on file with Dr. Katzman’s staff).

Sincerely,
-Barry Rosenblum


Pamela Svenning

Testimonials Pamela SvenningDr. Scott Katzman,

I am pleased to report that you that I am doing well. After about 8 weeks I was able to start some hiking. Now when I get on the trail, the first thing I think of is that I cannot believe I am able to do this. I have suffered for 8 years with back pain and the only thing that was done was cortisone injections to decrease the pain. I will report that I am not pain free but manageable. It was impossible to walk up hill due to my tailbone issues. No one seemed to understand why. Also by the time I came to you both legs were going numb from the stenosis in my L4-5. I will definitely contact you by email or otherwise if I have problems in the future. I am getting older and have degenerative disc disease. I am interested in getting as much good health as I can out of this or any other surgery. The photo’s I sent are at the Olympic National Park, Hurricane Ridge, and North Cascade National Forest. “Look at me now baby!”

-Pamela Svenning
Stanwood, WA


Mary Langevin

Testimonials Mary Langevin

Mary, who has worked within the medical spine service team for over 6 years, unexpectedly but thankfully, becomes a patient:

I have always been amazed to see and talk to the patients smiling at me and walking straight up without any pain after a post op visit. I have had a lot of vascular problems and surgeries so I never thought I would be able to be one of Dr. Katzman’s surgical patients. I knew I needed surgery but due to my other health problems, I didn’t think I would be a candidate. Dr. Katzman assured me that I would be able to handle the surgery as it was minimally invasive.

So, for me to say he is a remarkable surgeon is really putting it mildly. I had tears in my eyes as he greeted me for my post op back surgery exam, just 4 days after my surgery.

For the past 2 years I was not able to walk through Publix grocery store or even just enjoy a walk through the mall. The pain was actually visible. The grocery store employees were so used to seeing me walk in pain – they would just take the carriage from me and walk it to my car – loading everything for me. I was so embarrassed – yet grateful.

Stretching, bending and turning is all part of simple cleaning. I’d have to do a little and then stop to rest – Light cleaning was an all-day affair –due to the pain. Holidays and birthdays are times to enjoy family and friends. We always celebrate outside around the pool and patio. Unfortunately, my back pain had gotten to a point where I would have to slip away after just standing a short time and lay down for a while – I’d then return embarrassed! Now, because of Dr. Katzman’s surgical knowledge, I can look forward to having a decent life again!

Dr. Katzman is an excellent diagnostician, physician and surgeon – his skills are unsurpassed. He explained everything to me and told me not to worry because he would take care of everything.

My surgery was performed in a minimally invasive fashion. Dr. Katzman successfully completed a Laminectomy, foraminotomy, and partial facetectomy with decompression of the spinal cord and nerve root at the L4-L5 level (left sided) and repeated the same procedures on the right side. He also removed disc material that was impinging upon the nerve root at the L4, L5, and S1 levels. I woke from surgery feeling great! The staff was terrific too– they wanted me to stay overnight so they could keep an eye on me but I was so happy to be feeling so good, I just wanted to go home! –I said, “I can walk and my daughter is here – Can I please leave?” They called Dr. Katzman and he gave the go ahead! That was it – I went home with my daughter and since then, I have hardly stopped. She spent a couple of nights with me but I think I was driving her crazy – Not because I needed her to help with anything but because, I didn’t!

God Bless, Dr. Katzman. There is no end to his endurance – he will stay with you until he feels he has done everything possible to make you well. I’ve been to other surgeons who just do not have his ability or knowledge! I’ll be seeing Dr. Katzman again on Thursday, October 17, 2013 for stitch removal.

I feel sooooo great and I will be happy to answer any questions about my surgery – Just call Dr. Katzman’s office, my phone number is on file. Now, all I can say is “if you are in pain – do yourself a favor and call Dr. Katzman for an appointment. You’ll never be unhappy if you put your body in his hands!!

Sincerely,
-Mary Langevin
West Palm Beach, Fl.


Richard Mayo

On August 15, 2012, Mr. Rick Mayo came to Dr. Katzman’s office with complaints of severe neck pain with left arm radiculopathy (pain and numbness). After reviewing Rick’s MRI, Dr. Katzman observed a large left sided herniated disc at the C6- C7 level with protrusions at the C3-C4, C4-C5 and C5-C6 levels. He was also developing stenosis which is a narrowing of the opening where the spinal cord goes through.

Dr. Katzman started Mr. Mayo on injection therapy including a facet block and a nerve root injection. After about a month, Rick came in again stating that now he was about 50% better. The injections helped a lot of the pain going down to his hand but he still had some neck pain.

At this point, Dr. Katzman recommended a Total Disc Replacement at the C6-C7 level. They also discussed a Discectomy with a Fusion but Dr. Katzman thought that since, now after the injection therapy had healed most of his other problems, his problem was mainly geared to the one level. It would make much more sense to have the Total Disc Replacement because it would offer him more flexibility. Mr. Mayo agreed.

On November 02, 2012, Mr. Mayo did undergo the Discectomy with a Total Disc Replacement at the C6-C7 level. Right away, his pain and numbness going down his arm went away! He still had some stiffness, which Dr. Katzman asked him to do some home exercises including a stretching and strengthening program. About a month later, on December 11, 2012, Mr. Mayo came in with no pain and great motion!!


Anonymous

Testimonials AnonymousUp on all the minimally invasive procedures. This guy has done them all and done them well.


Carmen N.

Testimonials Carmen N.I am very pleased with the service of Doctor Katzman and his colleagues for a wonderful experience. I had been suffering for numerous years from my tailbone and sciatica pain which included numerous infections and visits for pain management medication which had no long lasting effect.

My pain management also included numerous epidurals that would help for a very short time. I had come to a dead-end. I always continued looking for a permanent solution to my back pain. Finding the orthopedic laser surgery group and Dr. Katzman was the answer to my prayer. From first contact they were very courteous, concerned and helpful. The staff was very professional and I was taken care of with professionalism and concern. Everything was explained to me before and after my procedure and what to expect, so I was put very much at ease.

It has been just 3 weeks and I notice the difference. I feel 90% compared to 45% before the surgery. This has been a blessing. I would recommend Dr. Katzman and his colleagues.

-Carmen N.
Lakeland, FL


Linda F.

Testimonials Linda F.My experience with Dr. Katzman has been nothing short of amazing. I am pain free after suffering for 20 years. I am a healthcare consultant and naturally see everything through a critical eye. Dr. Katzman and his team took time to answer all of my questions after giving me a thorough description of the proposed procedures. I interviewed several other surgeons both in Florida and Virginia-who all reviewed my MRI. At my initial appointment with Dr. Katzman, I knew this was where I was meant to be. Once my decision was made, surgery was scheduled and performed 4 weeks later.

I highly recommend Dr. Scott Katzman to anyone suffering with back pain, and contemplating surgery. There are many surgeons out there who will tell you they can fix your problem and push you into surgery within days. Some even discourage a second opinion.

I am so happy with my results.

-Linda F.
Virginia Beach, VA


Karen W.T.

Testimonials Karen W.T.I had a painful and stiff neck . I had a prior neck fusion which didn’t help. I saw many doctors. They all said that my neck was too complicated to fix. Dr. Katzman took the time to explain what he was going to do. He put in an artificial disk replacement in my neck and now my neck is not stiff or painful anymore! Amazing.

-Karen W.T.
Alabama


Jerry K.

Testimonials Jerry K.Dr. Scot Katzman … treated me for an automobile accident. Dr. Katzman was a dedicated doctor that is skilled in medicine. If you have an injury I would recommend Dr. Katzman.


Mrs. A Coyle

Testimonials Mrs. A CoyleHis diagnosis is spot accurate. His techniques are minimally invasive and leaves one with very little post surgery pain.


I. Caldero

Testimonials I. Caldero“Since my surgery I feel great great. So happy with my surgery. I will recommended Dr. Katzman to anyone.”

When Mrs. Caldero first meet Dr. Katzman in April of 2012, she suffered from a failed lumbar fusion from 2005 and was still in terrible pain. In June 2012, Dr. Katzman performed a discogram of her L3-4 level and also her L5-S1 level with an ablation surgery on her sciatic nerves in an attempt to help control the pain. Ms. Caldero’s pain subsided for a while but the pain slowly returned. In March 2013, Dr. Katzman performed a sacroiliac joint fusion, (a biomechanical implant and a fusion). Since her surgery she is feeling great and is happy to recommend Dr. Katzman and his team to everyone.


A dedicated patient from Stuart, FL

Testimonials A dedicated patient from Stuart, FLDr. Katzman and his staff are among the best healthcare workers that i have ever been to. He is a very personable man but besides his perfect bedside manner, he is an excellent diagnostician. He helped me when other doctors had given up. I would recommend Dr Katzman to anyone!


William B | West Palm Beach, FL

Testimonials William BWhen I walked into the office for the first time, I was greeted very graciously by the staff. Even though I was in a significant amount of pain, the staff made me feel very welcome. Before and after the surgery, Dr. Katzman and his staff were very personable and professional. Dr. Katzman did an amazing job. When I left, I felt like I could get back to living my normal lifestyle. Thanks to Dr. Katzman and his amazing staff.


James R. | Hollywood, FL

Testimonials James R.The experience was quick and efficient. Looking forward to getting back to the links pain free!


Peggy M | FL

Testimonials Peggy MI had cervical fusion surgery performed by Dr. Katzman in November, before which I had very limited range of motion in my neck, because the pain was too unbearable to move it. After my cervical fusion I am able to move my neck from side to side and up and down again totally pain free. I now have full range of motion, am free of the pain, and no longer suffer from headaches, Dr. Katzman truly is a miracle worker.


From Yahoo’s Kyphon, Inc. Message Board:

Testimonials From Yahoo’s Kyphon, Inc. Message Board:I had a T7 compression fracture and for over a year and a half I was in agony. I took pain pills like candy. I went thru pain management and had cortisone injected into my spine on several occasions. I was a total wreck and depressed. I was referred to a surgeon in Ft.Pierce, FL., Dr. Scott Katzman, who at that time wanted to do the surgery in July 2001. My Insurance Co. wanted a second opinion so I got one. The second Doctor said “no way it won’t work the injury is too old, the procedure is too new.” So I kept up the pain management. It finally got to the point I demanded the Kyphoplasty procedure. It was performed in March 2002. I went home immediately after the operation and was at work the next day! I tossed all the pain pills. Today was my final visit with Dr. Katzman. His office is now packed with clients and testimonial letters line the walls. It ain’t snake oil people. This is “miracle” surgery. In my opinion, this is catching on fast. An alternative for invasive back surgery. No danger, no long recovery, period.


Denver L.

Testimonials Denver L.Dear Dr. Katzman,
We are very happy to have had such a wonderful experience during this back surgery. You and your staff have been outstanding! Thank you so much for helping me on my road to a better back.

Warmest Regards,
Denver L.


Here are the Top 10 Reasons to Choose OLSS

Unsure which treatment is best for your orthopedic condition, or are you interested in qualifying for one of our many advanced laser spine procedures?

Find a Treatment